Institute of Technology, Tralee Honours Kerrys Inspiring Leaders

IT, Tralee Honours Kerrys Inspiring Leaders The Institute of Technology, Tralee (IT, Tralee) awarded its first ever Honorary Fellowships at a special ceremony on campus today (Thursday, 2 July).  The Honorary Fellows of the Institute are:

  • Fr. Pat Ahern, founder member of Siamsa Tire, the National Folk Theatre
  • Denis Brosnan, businessman who is credited with building the Kerry Group
  • Sister Stanislaus Kennedy, social innovator and founder of Focus Ireland
  • Jerry Kennelly, entrepreneur and founder of Stockbyte
  • Mícheál Ó Muircheartaigh, broadcaster and legendary GAA commentator
  • Dick Spring, businessman and former Tanáiste

The six leading Kerry figures from the sporting, cultural, business, community and political arenas were honoured for their reputation and distinction in their chosen fields

President of IT, Tralee, Michael Carmody, said:   â¿¿The awarding of Honorary Fellowships today marks an important milestone for the Institute and an opportunity to pay tribute to and thank these individuals for outstanding contribution to Irish society over many years⿝

â¿¿There is no denying that these are uncertain and challenging times for all sectors of Irish society. At times like this experienced and strong leadership is needed more than ever. Each of todayâ¿¿s recipients are proven outstanding leaders and have demonstrated how much can be achieved through hard work and dedication. Their contribution to Irish society should act as an inspiration to us all.⿝   

IT, Tralee, has gained a reputation as a centre of excellence for teaching, learning and research with 3,500 students and 500 staff. The Institute is a major contributor both nationally and regionally to economic, social and cultural development.