Annual Society Awards Evening 2010

On Thursday 11th March the Annual Society Awards Evening took place in the restaurant in the North Campus. This night is to celebrate all the hard work, time and dedication put in by the students involved in societies. Societies are a vital part of student life creating a balance between academic student and social development.  The evening was opened by Chairperson of the Governing Body Flan Garvey, following this there were speeches from Katie Sheehy, President of the Students Union, Myself and Tim Daly, Student Services and Academic Affairs Manager. The awards presentation was followed by a reception, there was music entertainment from Music Society member Stephen Molloy and there was also an Art Exhibition on display from our Art Society.

There were six awards presented on the night:

Society Awards 2010 - Winners Best Society Poster:
Nominees:  Art Society
Net Soc
Film Society
MAG Society
Young Agricultural Engineers Society

The Winner was: Film Society for their poster for MANBAND â¿¿ creative design by society member Martin Houlihan

Best Society Event:
Nominees:Radio Society â¿¿ 80â¿¿s Night 
Music Society â¿¿ Haiti Music Gig
Drama Society â¿¿ PANIC
Young Agricultural Engineers Society â¿¿ Annual Car Wash
LGBT Society â¿¿ Rainbow Week

The winner was: Drama Society for PANIC, the first drama production to be taken off campus to Siamsa Tíre

Society Awards 2010 Best Individual - DaveFrizelle Best Individual Contribution to Societies:
Nominees:  Jennifer Quinn â¿¿ Art Society
Mary Oâ¿¿Sullivan â¿¿ LGBT Society
Margaret Conway â¿¿ MAG Society 
Dylan Oâ¿¿Connell-Duffy â¿¿ LGBT Society
Dave Frizelle â¿¿ Young Agricultural Engineers Society

The winner was: Dave Frizelle â¿¿ nominated by members of the Young Agâ¿¿s as a tribute to all the hard work and dedicated he has given to the society to ensure the continued success year after year. Citations were given to the runners up of this award.

Most Improved Society:
Nominees:  Net Soc
Art Society
Drama Society
MAG Society
Music Society
Film Society

The winner was: Music Society for the hard work put in by its members to revive and develop the music society since last year.

Society Awards 2010 Best Chairman - Jerry Fitzgerald Best Society Chairperson:
Nominees:  Aaron Keating â¿¿ Net Soc
Padraig Oâ¿¿Mahony â¿¿ LGBT Society 
Jerry Fitzgerald â¿¿ Drama Society
Aisling Hickman-Fitzpatrick â¿¿ Radio Society
Elaine Lucey â¿¿ Art Society
Shauna Dreelan â¿¿ MAG Society

The winner was: Jerry Fitzgerald from the Drama Society, Jerry has always dedicated so much of his time and hard work into societies and this has led to a very successful Drama Society under his charge. Citations were given to the runners up of this award.

Best Society:
Nominees: Radio Society
Net Soc
Young Agricultural Engineers Society
   Society Awards 2010 Best Society - Radio Art Society
Drama Society
MAG Society

The winner was: Radio Society for the vast amount of work put into the society throughout the year.

All the winners of the Society Awards will now be invited to participate in the BICS National Society Awards being held in Athlone on the 14th April 2010. So from the Societies Office, Laura Gibney, would like to wish them all the very best of luck. I would also like to congratulate all the societies which were nominated for awards for even to be nominated is an achievement in itself.  I would like to thank everyone who contributed to the Society Awards as it was a great success.