ITT EU Debate 2010

ITT EU Debate 2010 On Wednesday 24th March 2010 the Institute of Technology, Tralee in conjunction with the EU Commission in Dublin will host the ITTs 7th annual EU debate which promises plenty of excitement.  Six students from 2nd year Business Studies will debate the topical issue of European monetary union.

This event is jointly sponsored by the School of Business at ITT and the EU Commission in Dublin. The main objective of this event is to foster greater awareness and dialogue about the EU and Irelandâ¿¿s role within it, amongst third level students, staff and the general public. It also follows on from six successful EU debates which IT Tralee has organised since 2003.

The motion for this yearâ¿¿s debate is â¿¿This House believes that there can be no European Union without monetary union.⿝ The proposition representing Year 2 of the Higher Certificate in Business Studies include Mr. Martin Oâ¿¿Connor, Ms. Barny Hassan, and Mr. Paul Adeola Oluwaseun. The opposition representing Year 2 of the Bachelor of Business Studies include Ms. Alice Oâ¿¿Regan, Mr. Lloyd Power and Mr. Alin Zlatescu. The panel of judges for this yearâ¿¿s debate are ITT lecturers Ms. Fiona Tobin, Mr. Pat McGarty and Mr. John Shanahan. The guest speaker for this yearâ¿¿s event is Mr. Tim Hayes who worked in the EU Commission in Brussels for 16 years. He is now Head of Sector at the European Commission Representation in Ireland. He will speak on theme of EMU in the context of the current financial crisis. The event is taking place in the North Campus, Solas Building (L108) on Wednesday 24th March at 7.30 pm.  Admission is free and open to the public.

The ITT EU Blogspot (an EU themed Teaching & Learning resource), which has been developed by a number of ITT students will also be unveiled at the event.