IT, Tralee Annual Sports Awards 2010

    Sports Awards Night Gallery Sports Citation Gallery Club person of the year Gallery

Celebrating Student Achievement in Sport

The highlight of the student sporting calendar, the IT Tralee Annual Sports Awards were held last night in the Earl of  Desmond Hotel, Tralee.  Four hundred guests attended the function as students, staff, sponsors and invited guests assembled to celebrate student achievement and participation in sport.

The majority of the Instituteâ¿¿s teams are now competing at the highest levels in Intervarsity Sport and this year celebrated success in Football, Camogie, Ladies Rugby, Ladies Soccer, Soccer, Basketball, Judo, Boxing, Racquetball, Handball, Rowing, Tae Kwon Do and Athletics.

Mr Flan Garvey, Chairman of the ITT Governing Body opened proceedings by welcoming everyone to the function and congratulating all students on the tremendous achievements this year.
Speaking on the night, Oliver Murphy, registrar of the Institute commended all the students on their sporting endeavours and highlighted the importance of participation. There are now over 30 clubs in the Institute giving students a wide variety of sport to choose from.

Also speaking on the night was Jennifer Healy, Sports Officer in the Institute, and she highlighted that the success in student sport is due to the dedication and commitment of the students and their mentors, the support of Institute Management and Staff, the generosity of many sponsors and the help and assistance of local clubs in helping to maintain what has become a very proud record of student achievement in sport for IT Tralee. Jennifer also spoke about the important role recent scholarship schemes have played in the development and promotion of sport in the Institute and acknowledged the contribution of Tralee Rugby Club, who came on board with a new Scholarship scheme this year. These scholarships along with the IT Tralee Sports Scholarships, Kennedy Coaches Scholarship and Munster GAA Bursaries show the Instituteâ¿¿s commitment to attracting top athletes while also maintaining strong community links.

In addition Eamon Fitzgerald, GAA Games Promotion Officer acknowledged the dedication shown by all students throughout the year which was reflected in the tremendous achievements. He also thanked both Munster GAA and the Kerry County Board for their continued support throughout the year.

The Awards evening is a fitting formal tribute to the Instituteâ¿¿s student sporting ambassadors and on the night students received citations for their administration/coaching roles within the clubs and each club also nominated their club person of the year.

The night concluded with the announcement of the much anticipated Team of the Year and Overall Sports Person of the Year.  The Ladies Rugby team fresh from their League and Championship Double received the â¿¿Team of the Yearâ¿¿ award while Limerick Hurling star, Mark Deegan received the award for Sports Person of the Year.

The evening was a fitting way to end the sporting year in the Institute and an enjoyable night was had by all. 

Club Persons of the Year 2009-2010

Lorna Cooper
Daniel Clifford Athletics
Phill Thomas Badminton
Nuala O Connor Basketball (Ladies)
Abdulaziz Al Eidhi Basketball (Men)
Shane Nicholas Boxing
Victoria Tynan Equestrian
Simon McCarthy Golf
Grainne Murphy Hockey (Ladies)
Jason Thong Hockey (Men)
Martin Gill Judo
Liam Kirwan Racquetball
Monika Dukarska Rowing
Conor Noone Rugby
Lisa- Marie Murphy Rugby(Ladies)
Jennifer Lyttle Soccer (Ladies)
Cillian O Connor Soccer (Men)
Bryan Stack Soccer â¿¿Bâ¿¿
Shane Purcell Swimming
John Carroll Tae Kwon Do
Boris Durand Tennis
Tara Cooney Volleyball
Tara Cooney Camogie
Mary O Sullivan Camogie B
Kate Feeney Ladies Football
Eimear Rogers Ladies GAGA
Shane Hedigan Handball (Men)
Shauna Hilley Handball (Ladies)
Nickie Quaid Senior Hurling
Padraig O Connor Fresher Hurling
Michael Brennan Fresher Football
Chris O Sullivan Junior Football
Gary O Driscoll Senior Football


Edel Fitzpatrick
BADMINTON Phill Thomas, Sean Bradley, Jill Hurley
BASKETBALL Paul O Riordan, Ciaran Crichlow, Aisling Hurley
BOXING Lee Bradley, Shane Nicholas
EQUESTRIAN Amanda Howard, Victoria Tynan
GOLF Simon McCarthy
HOCKEY Joachim McInerney
JUDO Brenainn Gould Duff, Martin Gill
ROWING Lorna Cooper
RUGBY Cathal O Reilly
SOCCER Barry McGann, Kenny Ward, Jamie Lynch, Eoin Fitzgerald, Lisa Maguire
SWIMMING Patrycja Czarnoleska
TENNIS Liam Kirwan
VOLLEYBALL Michael Carroll, Una Griffin
CAMOGIE Darren Kenny, Daragh O Brien
HANDBALL Daniel Riordan, Fergal Collins
HURLING Thomas Downes, Stephen Guilfoyle
LADIES FOOTBALL Shane Hennessy, David O Dea