Students' Fields of Dreams IT, Tralee Announces Sports Scholarships for 2010/2011

Michael Cleary, Lee Bradley & Shane Nicholas with ITT President Michael Carmody. Thirty six of the country's best young sports stars have been awarded Sports Scholarships by the Institute of Technology, Tralee (IT, Tralee) for 2010/2011 it was revealed at an awards ceremony held at the Institute's North Campus, on Thursday, 2nd December 2010.

The ITT's Scholarship Programme has significantly expanded in recent years with the Sports Scholarship event involving the presentation of IT, Tralee, Kennedy Coaches and Tralee Rugby Club Sports Scholarships as well as Munster GAA and Kerry GAA Bursaries.

36 students were honoured across 15 different sporting disciplines with this year's proceedings also marking the inaugural award of the Kerry GAA Bursaries. The Institute and the Kerry County Board have a long standing relationship and the provision of two new GAA Bursaries will further enhance and develop this relationship. Current U21 squad members Paul O Sullivan & Michael Brennan are the first recipients of these Bursaries.

Kerry Senior Footballers Barry John Keane and Gary O Driscoll along with one of Kerry Hurling's up and coming young stars, Colum Harty, also received awards on the night.

Limerick GAA was also well represented with senior Hurlers Nickie Quaid & Mark Deegan receiving scholarships. Also contributing to Limerick's success were two of Limerick's U21 team; James Riordan and Michael Kiely each of whom were honoured on the night.

Scholarships were awarded to Lee Bradley and Shane Nicholas for Boxing, Wayne Murphy for Tae Kwon Do and to Daniel Clifford, National U23 Shot and Discus Champion. Rugby was also well represented on the night with Sean Hurley, Jason Thong & Cathal O Reilly all receiving scholarships. These three players have been recently selected to represent IT, Tralee on the Munster Colleges Rugby Squad.

Female sports stars included the 2009 World Coastal Rowing champion and 2010 University Single Scull Rowing Champion, Monika Dukarska. Monika is currently one of Ireland's most exciting rowing talents with her sights set firmly on London 2012. Shauna Hilley, 2009 Handball Young Player of the Year, former Irish U17 Soccer International, Angela O'Mahony, former U18 Irish Hockey star, Jennifer Lyttle and Limerick Senior Camogie star Mairead Fitzgerald also received awards on the night.

Michael Carmody, President of IT, Tralee, paid tribute to the young sports stars and their families and wished them well with their studies and development as young promising athletes. "Today is recognition of the hard work and dedication these young sports stars have put in over the years to compliment their undoubted talents. The Scholarships presented tonight highlight the Institutes commitment to encouraging and rewarding excellence in sport, affording beneficiaries the opportunity to pursue their sporting interests while achieving a third level qualification."

ITT Scholarship Students