Text Sizer:

You are here:

Senior Football Trench Cup 2010

Congratulations to the IT Tralee Senior Football team that won the 2010 Trench Cup last weekend in Maynooth. This is a great achievement by the lads and great credit is due to all the players and their management team of John Sugrue, James Prendergast and William Harmon for all the hard work that they have put in throughout the year.

ITT travelled up to Maynooth on Thursday evening and had an early start the next morning when they faced Waterford IT in the semi-final held at Carton House GAA pitch. In what was a tight game ITT eventually came out on top on a score line of; IT Tralee 0-12 Waterford IT 0-10. The scorers on the day were as follows; Patrick Curtin 0-03, Alan O’ Donoghue 0-02, Shane Hennessy 0-02, Paul O’ Donoghue 0-01, Brendan Poff 0-01, Cormac Joyce-Power 0-01, Eoin Ryan 0-01, Alan Looney 0-01.

This win now meant that IT Tralee would face Trinity College Dublin in the final on Saturday in the Leixlip GAA pitch. Trinity had accounted for Napier of Edinburgh in their semi-final the previous day. Trinity started the brighter racing in to a 2 point lead. However, ITT struck for a goal in the sixth minute when a Brendan Poff 45 metre free was misjudged by the Trinity goalkeeper and ended up in the back of the net.  From here on ITT never looked back for the rest of the half and a Denis Crowley goal in the 26th minute gave IT Tralee a 2-03 to 0-06 lead at half time.

On the resumption, it was Trinity again that started the brighter and kicked three unanswered points to bring the sides level with 15 minutes remaining. However, IT Tralee were able to unleash fresh players off the bench at this stage and it was the quality and strength and depth in this area that would prove a match winner for IT Tralee . Firstly, man of the match for Castlegregory in the recent All Ireland Junior Final; Shane Hennessy came on and kicked a point, next up former Kerry minor/u21 Sean Courtney came on to kick a point and finally Michael Brennan (Kerry minor 2009) from Churchill came on and kicked the insurance point.

Overall, this was a great win for IT Tralee . The decision to go from Sigerson to Trench this year was a big one but one that we can now say was the correct one. The decision was taken in order to hopefully start winning a few games again and to try and bring a bit of pride back in to playing football with IT Tralee . We feel that we have now achieved this and once again I personally would like to thank John Sugrue , James Prendergast and William Harmon for the work that they put in, in trying to achieve this.
Finally, on behalf of the players and management, I would like to thank our sponsors Kings Court student village and John McHale “The Stretford End Bar” Causeway as well as all those who donated to us for the weekend.

IT Tralee Senior Football Trench Cup Winners 2010

Team and subs: 1. Cillian Moran ( Ardfert , Kerry) 2. Eoin Murray (Na Fianna, Meath ) 3. Shane Brosnan  (St. Pats Blennerville , Kerry) (captain) 4. Maurice Shanahan ( Ballymac , Kerry) 5. Eoin Ryan ( Kilmallock , Limerick) 6. Mark Deegan (Hospital-Herbertstown, Limerick) 7. William Kelly ( Castledermot , Kildare ) 8. Luke Kavanagh ( Monaleen , Limerick) 9. Denis Crowley ( Bishopstown , Cork) 10. Gary O Driscoll ( Skellig Rangers, Kerry) 11. Paul O Donoghue (John Mitchels , Kerry) 12. Brendan Poff (St. Pats Blennerville , Kerry) 13. Alan O Donoghue (John Mitchels , Kerry) 14. Cormac J. Power ( Ahane , Limerick) 15. Sean Courtney ( Skellig Rangers, Kerry) 16. John Higgins (John Mitchels , Kerry) 17. Patrick Curtin ( Moyvane , Kerry) 18. Shane Hennessy ( Castlegregory , Kerry) 19. Michael Brennan (Churchill, Kerry) 20. Alan Looney ( Firies , Kerry) 21. Kevin Harnett ( Meelick , Clare) 22. Micheal Cahill (John Mitchels , Kerry) 23. Ryan O Donnell (Four Masters, Donegal ) 24. Keith Conway  (Ballymore-Eustace, Kildare ) 25. Ian Somers ( Currow , Kerry) 26. Chris O Sullivan (St. Michaels Foilmore , Kerry) 27. Ronan Phelan ( Ballinacor , Wicklow ) 28. Damien Doolan ( Kilcummin , Kerry) 29. Eoin Murray (O’ Currys , Clare) 30. Conor Keane ( Ballinrobe , Mayo) 31. Shane Fitzgerald  (Austin Stacks, Kerry) 32. Shane Finn (Churchill, Kerry) 33. Darren O Shea (St. Michaels Foilmore , Kerry) 34. Maurice Murphy (St. Michaels Foilmore , Kerry) 35. Brendan O’ Shea ( Dromid Pearses , Kerry)

Path to the Final:

Round 1: ITT 3-09 LIT 0-09
Quarter Final: ITT 2-12 Letterkenny IT 0-12 aet
Semi-Final: ITT 0-12 WIT 0-10
Final: ITT 2-06 Trinity College Dublin 0-10