Text Sizer:

You are here:

IT Tralee win Division 2 Womens Rugby Cup in style

Captain recieving Division 2 Womens Rugby Cup IT Tralee 65 NUI-Maynooth 0

The final of the Irish Colleges Women's Rugby Division 2 Final, organised by CUSAI, held at the impressive sports facilities at the University of Ulster Jordonstown. Friday's game was indeed an historic one for the Institute of Tralee Women's rugby side, for this was the third occasion that the Tralee girls have reached the final stage, having been defeated on the last two occasions.photos

Both sides started the game with great vigour and determination but despite the strong presence of both sets of forwards throughout the game,it soon became apparant that the Tralee girls showed more speed,determination and a sense of purposethroughout the game.The first try by Tralee in the 4th minute was ably scored by Zoe Dunbar who showed great pace and gazelle like speed throughout the game,sidestepping many on her way through the NUI-Maynooth defence for the first of three tries.Scores came in rapid succession when Dunbar scored her second try in the 7th minute.This was quickly followed by a try by No 10 Ciara O Connor.Anne Marie Murphy had a dream of a try in the 13th minute followed again by Dunbar who scored in the 22nd minute before Murphy wrapped it up in the last minute of the first half leaving the score at 36-0 to the Tralee girls.

The Maynooth girls never lost their ambitions,neverthe less Tralee went int superdrive in the second period with scores from Jayne Mc Mahon(two tries),Lisa Murphy(two tries),Marion Keele(1 Try),with Ciara O Connor finishing the game with the final try leaving the final score 65-0.

IT Tralee Scorers
Z Dunbar (3 Tries),C O Connor (1Try, 5 conversions), AM Murphy (2 Tries), J Mc Mahon (2 Tries), LM Murphy (2 Tries), M Keele (1 Try).

IT Tralee Womens Rugby Team

IT Tralee Team

15 S Barrett: 14 Z Dunbar: 13 AM Murphy: 12 Mkeele: 11 JRyan: 10 CO'Connor: 9 JMc Mahon: 8 E Culluty: 7 K Daly: 6L Dorrian: 5 LM Murphy: 4 S Holmes: 3 A Redmond: 2 S Curtin: 1 Ni Shuilleabhan: Replacements:T Scully.

View all match pictures