Text Sizer:

You are here:

RSS Feeds   Current News

May 29, 2012 - Transition Year Media Awards

Transition Year Media Awards

The Department of Creative Media and Information Technology held a Transition Year Media Awards night last night.  The evening was attended by transition year students, their parents and families, transition year co-ordinators and school principles.

This event was to showcase the work that transition year students produced when they completed training courses in Information Systems Management, Music Technology, Interactive Multimedia and TV, Radio and New Media Broadcasting here during the second semester.  These courses are developed and delivered by our 3rd year work placement students.

Alannah Rice and Ciara Griffin The Transition Year Teaching Programme was introduced three years ago and piloted with just one secondary school – Mercy Mounthawk.  Six secondary schools now participate in the training programme – Mercy Mounthawk, Causeway, Presentation, Brookfield, CBS the Green and Gaelcholaiste Ciarrai.  Almost 200 students undertook the training programmes and it is anticipated this number will grow for the next academic year.

The event was launched by Head of Department, Mary Lucey, and 1st year Computing with Multimedia Student, Aki O Rourke, began the evening with a highly entertaining dance routine.

Guests at Media Awards 2012 Phillip Doyle and Siobhan Creedon, Work Placement Co-Ordinators for the Media Department, introduced the work placement trainers.  The student trainers presented audio clips of radio advertisements, graphic design work, desktop publishing work, sound technology clips and short films.  All work was undertaken entirely by the transition year students under the guidance of our work placement students.

The work placement students delivering the training programme were: Mikey Maguire, Eoin Murphy, (Music Technology)  Brigitta O Brien, Angela Stack, Linda Lawlor, Ingrid Klement, (Information Systems Management)  Alannah Rice, Ciara Griffin, (Interactive Multimedia) Alan Cantwell, Michael Kelliher, Ceire Ni Eochaidh Dhalaigh (TV, Radio and New Media Broadcasting)