Your browser does not support JavaScript

Text Sizer:

You are here:

Students' Fields of Dreams IT, Tralee Announces Sports Scholarships for 2011/2012

Twenty nine of the country's best young sports stars have been awarded Sports Scholarships by the Institute of Technology, Tralee (IT, Tralee) for 2011/2012 it was revealed last night.

The Institute's Scholarship Programme has significantly expanded in recent years with the Sports Scholarship event involving the presentation of IT, Tralee, Kennedy Coaches and Tralee Rugby Club Sports Scholarships as well as Munster GAA and Kerry GAA Bursaries.

29 students were honoured across 11 different sporting disciplines at the ceremony in Tralee last night.

Kerry Senior Hurlers Colum Harty and Jason Leahy along with Ballyduff’s Barry O Grady received awards on the night. Kerry Football was represented by current U21 players, Michael Brennan and Paul O Sullivan.

Cork GAA was also well represented with up and coming young footballers Ruairi Deane & Kate Harrington collecting awards. Ruairi is currently a member of the Cork U21 football team and Kate has represented her county in both Camogie and Ladies Football over the last number of years. Also receiving award on the night were Crusheen’s Fergus Kennedy & Gearoid Doherty

Tralee RFC awarded four scholarships on the night while two of the IT, Tralee Scholarships also went to Rugby players including Limerick’s Brian Mullins who represented IT, Tralee on the Munster Colleges team for the Interpro series last year.

Representing Soccer, former Irish U 18 soccer player, Aaron Houlihan also received an award on the night.

Clare dual Star Ailish Considine was awarded the Kennedy Coaches Scholarship this year. Other female sports stars included the 2009 World Coastal Rowing champion and 2010 & 2011 University Single Scull Rowing Champion, Monika Dukarska. Monika is currently one of Ireland’s most exciting rowing talents and recently competed again in the World coastal Rowing Championships. Shauna Hilley, 2011 Leinster Senior Handballer of the Year, along with former Irish U17 Soccer International, Angela O’Mahony also received awards. Jennifer Lyttle who represented IT, Tralee on the Irish Combined Colleges Soccer team this year also received an award on the night.

Michael Hall, Registrar of IT, Tralee, paid tribute to the young sports stars and their families and wished them well with their studies and development as young promising athletes. "Today is recognition of the hard work and dedication these young sports stars have put in over the years to compliment their undoubted talents. The Scholarships presented tonight highlight the Institutes commitment to encouraging and rewarding excellence in sport."

End main menu.

IT Tralee - Sports Office, Tralee, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Telephone: +353 (0)66 7145644 | Email: